Show Me the Money!

4 03 2010

Money

There has been some great discussion over at FSP about professor salary.  I am still a lowly graduate student, so I don’t know much about a professor’s salary, but I have been looking into it (just in case the ever elusive offer comes my way!).  She really got me thinking about how much I should expect to make when I start my career.  I have heard people discuss the negotiating process, but I keep thinking…how much room do I really have to negotiate?  After all, if I get an offer this go around, I will be straight out of grad school.  I feel as though I won’t have much (if any) room for negotiation simply due to my lack of experience outside of grad school. 

Right now, we are a two income family, but if we have to move for my job we will go down to a one income family as my wife wants to stay home with our kid.  That is of course highly dependent upon my salary and the cost of living.  My wife is the bread-winner right now, and probably would continue to be even after I start my career…just the nature of working in academia.  Regardless of what my salary will be, if we go down to a one income family, it will be a pay cut because there is no way I am getting paid what our combined salary is right now as a starting assistant professor.  We will have to adjust, but hopefully it will not be too great of an adjustment. I’ll admit, I have become accustom to our current lifestyle, and would prefer for it not to diminish too much.  I guess we will just have to wait and see!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

