Getting Ready…sort of

13 01 2011

Classes start next Thursday. My first lecture is on the 27th. I still haven’t completed an entire lecture!

I am the world’s worst (or best, however you look at it) procrastinator. I promised myself that I wasn’t going to be like this this semester, but alas, here I am. I don’t understand why I can’t just sit down and work on a lecture without taking a break every 10-15 minutes. That might not be a huge deal if my breaks were only a minute or two, but no….I decide to get up and stretch my legs and end up talking to a colleague for 30 minutes. I decide to take a quick peek around the Internet…one site leads to another and before I know it I’ve been on the web for 30 minutes! It is maddening!
To make matters worse, this is a brand new prep for a course that hasn’t been taught here yet so I don’t have any notes from previous semesters to use as a guide. I know that I will get it done before my lecture, but I wanted this semester to be different. I wanted to get a couple of weeks ahead of my lectures so that I had more time to prepare for the actual giving of the lecture and to make any adjustments needed. Maybe the quiet building is too distracting. I think I need the students around to make some noise in the hallways!

On a completely different note, drop on over to SS4BC and check out what she has been going through. I couldn’t believe it when I read it. Leave her a note of encouragement in her comments.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

