How do people do it?

1 02 2012

MULTITASKING! I suck at it! I truly envy people who have the ability to multitask.  I have tried and tried to no avail.  It seems that the harder I try to multitask, they more I focus on one task.  I desperately need to learn to multitask because it really stinks only being able to focus on one task at a time.

I try to multitask while working on powerpoint slides for future lectures, but I end up getting all consumed with making the slide perfect.  “Did I add too much information?” “Is that enough information?” “Can I draw that figure better myself?” The questions go on and on in my mind.

I try to divide my time so that I can get many things done within a day, but I just can’t seem to make it work.  I end up working on one thing for the vast majority of a day.  I will admit that part of that is my fault because I get very easily distracted on the internet.

Anyone have any ideas on how to beat this?

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 02 2012
mareserinitatis

I really prefer to stay focused on one thing for a while because it seems to take me so long to ramp up once I decide to start working on a task. I don’t multitask well at all…and I think it’s a myth. On the other hand, my husband seems to be one of these people who can flip his attention fairly easily and he gets on task right away. Not sure if it’s an attentional thing or what…I kind of think I could have ADD, and he most definitely does not.

6 02 2012
joshuca

I am exactly like you. It takes me so long to get focused on the task at hand that I can’t make myself switch between tasks. Thanks for the comment!

7 02 2012
Dr. Dad, PhD

I fear that I’m in the same boat as you, but I’m trying to get better. While I don’t think it’s necessarily a fault, I’m finding that I simply don’t have the time to do the things I want to.

In theory, if I didn’t need a reloading period I’d be much more productive…. <> I’ll just mark that down as a work in progress….

7 02 2012
joshuca

I know what you mean. It is that reloading period when I switch tasks that really kills me.

Leave a Reply

